A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to Asia…

5 Apr

My plan was to travel this year. I had two dates in mind – either leaving end of May, after a very good friend had her baby, and being back in August before my nephew had his second birthday OR waiting six months or so until after the August birthday. I decided I’d apply for a contracted position that ends in October as a way of letting the universe decide. And I’ve now got the job! It’s too good to pass up. Work from home, great pay, I’m the boss and it works around E. So October is now launch date for my trip!

What I didn’t expect was to end up running a Guesthouse in the meantime! One of my friends was moving out of her studio but couldn’t afford a house. Since I take in homestay kids I said that I could probably find a house we could share – my half would be full of backpackers and homestay and her half would be her private home. Lovely, if offbeat, concept. We went to look at a few places and then stumbled on this crazy old hospital building. And by crazy, I think it actually was a psychiatric residential home judging by the number of locks on the bedroom doors! It has six bedrooms, four bathrooms, three living spaces and a pretty modern kitchen. Some parts of the building are downright creepy but it has potential. It was also C.H.E.A.P because no family wanted to live in it. My friend decided the location wasn’t great for her, but I could not get this building out of my head. Before I knew it, I had put in an application to run it as a homestay or travellers house. I didn’t expect anything to come of my crazy idea. But the owner of the house agreed. And overnight, my life changed!

I am still going to travel in October. I have only agreed to a six month lease of the old building in case it doesn’t work out. So if it doesn’t I head off to travel. But if it does work out, it’s a steady stream of income for the foresable future that will fund my world travel and I’ll never have to work in an office again!

What an adventure. I now have to find enough furniture for this place. And linen (I bought FORTY kilos of blankets and manchester yesterday!) I have to find a mix of long-term, short-term and overnight guests and tenants to make it profitable. I have to clean it top to bottom since it has been neglected! But I’m convinced it will be fabulous. I already have my first confirmed booking – the whole house booked for two weeks by a visiting Circus Troupe.

So now I’ll be able to spin stories to my son with the lines, “What, you don’t remember the time we lived in the Mental Institution?” and “What about the time we joined the Circus?”.

I love my life. It’s not conventional, but it’s also never dull.

3 Responses to “A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to Asia…”

  1. Halley April 7, 2011 at 10:43 pm #

    This is awesome. I think more people should live in mental hospitals with traveling circus troupes.

  2. Marilia July 15, 2011 at 1:15 pm #

    Your story is awesome. I´ve been browsing away on your blog and your community site, everything is so cool. It´s not easy being a single mom, but boy, don´t we rock?!

    • solomamatravels July 17, 2011 at 8:56 am #

      Marilla! Wow. Your blog is one of my inspirational blogs. I feel like someone famous has just dropped by my place ha ha! I agree..single mamas are so talented!

Leave a Reply

