Travel and Babywearing

2 Mar

Bub and I geocachingMy son is at rather an awkward age to start to travel. He likes to walk now, but can’t be trusted to follow me, or walk beside me calmly. He’s only 15 months so will explore and that means it either takes us thirty minutes to walk up our driveway, or I have to carry him, or put him in a stroller. From what I’ve read I know a stroller is not going to be a great option for much of Asia, and I don’t even know if I should bother taking one. Which leaves me the option of babywearing.

I’m a huge fan of babywearing but it’s not always easy. I had pelvic issues while pregnant that have never entirely gone away, so for the first month or two it was too painful to wear my son for long. Then we went through a period where it was great – he was small enough to love being in the front carry position of my Ergo Baby Carrier. But now..sheesh…he still likes the front carry but he’s a bit tall for it, or I’m a bit short! And it hurts my back since he is 11 kilos.

My problem is I can’t figure out the back carry position. Just look at this gorgeous travel shot here. This was us a few months back geocaching. I’d climbed all the way up a bluff above the sea and in front of a blowhole in a National Park to find this geocache.  I felt on top of the world, literally. I also felt very pinched! I’m a curvy gal, and the front strap is always ridding up to dig into my belly, even with the belt extension! I can try putting it way down on my hips under my belly but that doesn’t seem much better. No matter what combination of straps and lengths I try I seem to always end up looking awkward. It actually is pretty comfy but I’m embarassed by how it looks. So much so I’ve been pulling the front of my shirts up and over the straps which looks nicer, but then really hurts cause it’s strap on skin! Ouch. If I relax the straps enough to it doesn’t dig into flesh then there isn’t enough tension to hold E up at the back.

HELP? Any suggestions. I want to get this right before I head off for months without a stroller.

 

5 Responses to “Travel and Babywearing”

  1. Halley March 3, 2011 at 1:19 am #

    Hey Jody,
    My friend Lili, who teaches on babywearing says this:
    Yeah, Ergos have a muffin-top problem. She should probably layer a tank top under her shirt so she can pull the shirt over the straps without the straps going right on her skin.

  2. solomamatravels March 3, 2011 at 6:54 am #

    Does your friend suggest another type of carrier instead? I know there are a few other soft shell back carriers but I don’t know which one to try and I’d hate to waste money and end up with the same issue!

    • The Dropout March 6, 2011 at 1:43 am #

      Jody, your first option is just to ignore the muffin problem. (That’s what I do).
      One thing you have to remember is that babywearing is hot and Asia is hot. I wouldn’t recommend wearing two shirts, in Singapore at least.
      I’ve read advice about the joys of traveling with an umbrella stroller. I think that’s what we’re going to do.
      Carrying a baby hurts my back, arms and shoulders. Using the carrier is very sweaty and she’s starting to be too wriggly. We did use the carrier as a child restraint when taking taxis but she’s too wriggly for that now too.
      If you change to another carrier, make sure you can wear it in front too. There would be nothing worse than being hot and sweaty and not being able to sit down because the damn baby’s fallen asleep back there.
      Good luck (and love your work)

  3. Tracy Burns March 14, 2011 at 10:06 pm #

    Do you have a cheap stroller you can try and if it doesn’t work out just ditch it? Our children were a little older when we started travelling so they were just forced to walk but I have a few friends who have backpacked around Asia with toddlers in strollers. Yes some cities are hard but many haven’t been as bad as we were expecting.

  4. jennywynter March 29, 2011 at 11:30 am #

    We used one of those metal frame backpacks when we were travelling in Canada – it did get a bit heavy after a coupla hours, but was awesome just for short hikes and stuff. Plus it came with a shade plus some plastic bits you could put down in case of rain, etc. ROCKED.

    Love the blog Jodes, can’t wait to follow your travels!! x

Leave a Reply

